clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA Announces Marc Gasol as Defensive Player of the Year

Marc Gasol is the first player in Grizzlies franchise history to win the DPOY award.

Stephen Dunn

Though the news of Marc Gasol winning Defensive Player of the Year for the 2012-13 season leaked earlier this week the NBA has made it official.

Gasol, one of only six players to average at least 1.5 blocks (1.7 bpg) and 1.0 steals (1.0 spg), led a Grizzlies defense that allowed a league-low 88.7 ppg during the regular season. According to, Gasol’s +5.4 score differential ranked second among NBA centers; additionally, Memphis enjoyed a +7.5 score differential when Gasol was on the court compared with -3.9 when he was on the bench.

via NBA Press Release

Marc Gasol received 212 of a possible 1,089 points, including 30 first-place votes. Lebron James, Serge Ibaka, Joakim Noah and Tony Allen rounded out the rest of the top-5.