clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Marc Gasol is First Team All-NBA

In a much deserved award, The NBA has awarded Big Spain with the Grizzlies first ALL-NBA First Team selection

Frederick Breedon/Getty Images

The NBA has announced the All-NBA teams for the 2014-2015 season, and there is another major accomplishment to add to Tony Allen's selection on the All-Defensive First Team. Marc Gasol has cemented himself as one of if not the best center in the NBA and deserves all the credit he gets for his performance this season.


Gasol averaged a career-best 17.4 points to go with 7.8 rebounds and 3.8 assists for the 55-win Grizzlies. He scored 30-plus points five times after doing so just once in his first six seasons. He set career highs in field goals made and attempted, as well as free throws made and attempted. Gasol was named an All-Star for the second time, earning his first All-Star start.

Voting Break Down

There are 129 ballots given to sportswriters and broadcasters that cover the NBA.  Each voter is to select a first, second and third team member (2 G 3 F/C). First place votes get 5 points, second place gets 3 points, and third place gets 1 point

  • G-Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors- 645 points (129 1st Team votes)
  • F-LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers- 645 (129)
  • G-James Harden, Houston Rockets- 637 (125)
  • F/C-Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans- 625 (119)
  • C-Marc Gasol, Memphis Grizzlies- 453 (65)

Here are the All-NBA Second and Third Teams as well:

Second Team

  • G-Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder- 397 (10)
  • G-Chris Paul, Los Angeles Clippers- 335 (1)
  • F/C-LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland Trail Blazers- 390 (13)
  • C/F-DeMarcus Cousins, Sacramento Kings- 220 (18)
  • C- Pau Gasol, Chicago Bulls- 242 (15)
Third Team

  • G-Kyrie Irving, Cleveland Cavaliers-112
  • G-Klay Thompson, Golden State Warriors- 122
  • F-Blake Griffin, Los Angeles Clippers- 189 (2)
  • C-DeAndre Jordan, Los Angeles Clippers- 175 (2)
  • F/C-Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs- 167 (6)

Other Grizzlies receiving votes

Zach Randolph- 7

Mike Conley- 1

Congratulations to Marc Gasol and the Memphis Grizzlies for this historic day!