clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mike Conley Wins NBA's Sportsmanship Award

In the middle of the strangest year in a while for the Grizzlies and the team down 3-0 to the Spurs, Mike Conley is recognized by the NBA

Justin Ford-USA TODAY Sports

Good news everyone!!!!

Mike Conley has been awarded the Joe Dumars Trophy as the amateur or professional basketball player who exemplifies  the qualities of sportsmanship.

From the team:

Memphis Grizzlies guard Mike Conley is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2015-16 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today. Conley, who previously won the award in 2013-14, joins Grant Hill (three) and Jason Kidd (two) as multiple winners since the award’s inception in the 1995-96 season. Conley and General Manager Chris Wallace will be available to the media before Sunday’s game at 10:45 a.m. in the Main Interview Room at FedExForum.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league’s NBA Cares program.  The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award’s first recipient, in 1995-96. Conley will be presented the Joe Dumars Trophy in a pregame presentation on the main court before tomorrow’s Game 4 tip-off at 12 p.m.

"I’m humbled to be recognized by the league again for an award that celebrates more than just winning on the court," said Conley. "This award is more than a trophy – I’m able to celebrate it with my family, who helped instill the values of teamwork, as well as with my coaches, teammates and all of Grizz Nation."

Conley (Southwest) was one of six divisional winners, joining the Toronto Raptors’ Luis Scola (Atlantic), the Chicago Bulls’ Pau Gasol (Central), the Portland Trail Blazers’ Damian Lillard (Northwest), the Golden State Warriors’ Shaun Livingston (Pacific) and 2014-15 winner Kyle Korver of the Atlanta Hawks (Southeast).  The NBA will make a $10,000 donation on behalf of Conley to his charity of choice, Methodist Healthcare Foundation, with the money earmarked for the Methodist Sickle Cell Center.

Here is the final voting for the award:

Player, Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th Points
Mike Conley, Memphis 58 65 78 51 55 20 2,209
Kyle Korver, Atlanta 54 71 63 59 53 27 2,155
Pau Gasol, Chicago 62 67 44 57 44 53 2,063
Damian Lillard, Portland 69 47 52 60 47 52 2,039
Shaun Livingston, Golden State 37 48 53 51 80 58 1,763
Luis Scola, Toronto 47 29 37 49 48 117 1,543

And the previous winners

1995-96: Joe Dumars, Detroit
1996-97: Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-98: Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-99: Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-00: Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-01: David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-02: Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-03: Ray Allen, Seattle
2003-04: P.J. Brown, New Orleans
2004-05: Grant Hill, Orlando
2005-06: Elton Brand, Los Angeles Clippers
2006-07: Luol Deng, Chicago
2007-08: Grant Hill, Phoenix
2008-09: Chauncey Billups, Denver
2009-10: Grant Hill, Phoenix
2010-11: Stephen Curry, Golden State
2011-12: Jason Kidd, Dallas
2012-13: Jason Kidd, New York
2013-14: Mike Conley, Memphis
2014-15: Kyle Korver, Atlanta
2015-16: Mike Conley, Memphis

Congratulations on a cool award for a cool guy and a guy who represents Memphis and the Grizzlies well across the league.  If he wins it again they may have to call it the Conley Award.

To read more on Mike's chosen charity or even make a donation, please visit the Sickle Cell Center page for more information.